An Open Letter To The “Next One”

You may or may not exist yet, but one thing I know for sure, is that the thought of you is already very real. Real in his world, and real in mine.

He will fall in love with you. And he will fall quickly. He has a huge heart and will do whatever he can for you. He will buy you cards, make you lunch, and hold you all night. He will fly into the house after work to kiss you and you will melt in his arms. He will take you out and he will promise you the world.

And you will belong to him.

He is emotional and when he cries, let him. It’s the best way to see his true feelings. He will get upset, but never mad. He will treat you like the princess you are.

But…he may forget.

He may forget how he felt when he wrote those cards. What he felt when he kissed you for the first time.

Remind him.

Then remind him again.

Be a strong woman and insist on what you need out of your relationship.

I didn’t and I gave up.

I want to get one thing straight. I will never hate you, speak ill of you, or dislike you. But I will be jealous of you. Afterall, you are getting the things that I’ve required for the last 8 years.

I look forward to getting to know you, and ask only one thing. Be patient with me. And him. We will be connected forever through the two boys that give us both a reason to keep moving forward. I may call him from one to numerous times a day if it has to do with our children. Please don’t be threatened by me. I will never intrude in your life and if I am told it’s not a good time, unless it’s an emergency, I will oblige.

Love him back. As much as you’re capable. I promise you, you will never regret it.

My final thought: If you are so inclined to hurt me in any way possible, I will forgive you. But if you ever hurt my little boys, prepare for one heck of a family chat. I will never, ever let them get hurt in any way and will keep them safe as long and as much as I can. Love them like your own and it won’t be an issue.

Leave a comment